ASEE MIND Officers

Diane Elisa Golding, Ed.D.

she | her | ella

Chair (2022 – 2023)

Assistant Professor of Instruction
The University of Texas at El Paso

Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion in engineering mean so much to me! I believe that achieving this in engineering is a reflection of where we are as a society and whether and who we value and embrace ALL people. The part in the Oath of the Engineer that speaks to me is the obligation is ‘to serve humanity by making use of Earth’s precious wealth.’ That precious wealth includes our interactions with each other and insisting on treating one another with respect, love and kindness regardless of race, ethnicity, or gender identity. Each one of us has a responsibility for leading the table.


Curtis Taylor, Ph.D.

Chair Elect (2023 – 2024)


Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Associate Professor of Engineering Education
Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
University of Florida




Christopher Carr, Ed.D.

he | him | his

Past-Chair (2023 – 2024)

Associate Dean & Chief Diversity Officer
Assistant Professor (STEM in Society)
George Mason University

Justice, Equity, Diversity, and/or Inclusion in Engineering means: Working in engineering for me makes sense, as engineers have the ability to build systems. These systems are used to either build – or oppress communities. The water crisis in Flint, Michigan shows that engineers can both be villains and heroes in our stories. Engineers can create healthy water purification systems to save communities in peril when called upon. they can also set all of this into motion by simply bypassing safety procedures in the beginning processes to the detriment of countless people. The easy road is providing water testing kits and bottled water to residents. But social justice and anti-racism requires more. It means creating clean water systems, with the inability to bypass because of cost cutting measures. It means infusing ethics in the design process. It means consulting those who are in the community about their needs to ensure that in altruistic effort to do good, we don’t do more harm.


Ali-N photo

Ali Shaykhian, Ph.D.

he | him | his

Program Chair (2022 – 2024)

EPSCoR Reporting and Technical Monitor Manager

Victor Garcia, Ph.D.

He | Him | His

Secretary (2022 – 2024)

U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center 

Research Civil EngineerAirfields and Pavements Branch
Geotechnical and Structures Laboratory 


Henriette Burns, Ph.D.

Treasurer (2021 – 2023)

Adjunct Assistant Research Professor
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville


Vemitra M. White, Ph.D.

Member-At-Large (2022 – 2024)

Assistant Professor
Texas State University

To me Justice, Equity, and Inclusion in Engineering means providing equal access to leadership, mentorship, jobs, academic and collaborative opportunities for all. In addition, justice equity, and inclusion also means placing value on and respecting the education, goals, values, skills, and interests each Engineer brings to their respective career path, regardless of gender, ethnicity, or institution attended.


Tracy Hammond, Ph.D.

Member-At-Large (2021 – 2023)

Director of the Institute for engineering Education & Innovation
Texas A&M University



Saundra Johnson Austin, Ed.D.

She | Her | Hers

CDEI Delegate for ASEE MIND (2021 – 2023)

President and CEO
Charis Consulting Group, LLC